Back Home Again…

Well, it’s always nice to be home. Then again, it has been a little over a month since I finished my time aboard the Matson containership, S.S. Kauai. My problem is re-acclimating to life ashore. Now that I feel reasonably decompressed, it’s time to get back to the business of food again–not that I haven’t been eating and cooking.

Actually, while I was shipped-out, I made it a point to do some “research.” While the Kauai was docked (of the many times while I was aboard) in Oakland, I investigated Rockridge, a neighborhood located three BART stops north of the downtown 12th Street station. There, I discovered an Italian-Iranian restaurant named, “I-Squared.” Here’s their website: http://www.i2squared.com/ Their food was fabulous enough that I dragged one of my shipmates back with me. No disappointments!

The one menu item that I walked away with the ambition of making at home was their fesenjoon. Imagine a chicken dish built around crushed walnuts, pomegranate paste and served over saffron basmati rice. Very exotic and tasty! If you happen to be in the Rockridge neighborhood of North Oakland, I highly recommend dining there. Chef Nory Madjlessi is a genius and a very warm host.

When I came back home last month, one of the first things I made for Margaret was fesenjoon. Admittedly, what I ended up making suffered a number of twists–in order to match my memory of Nory’s creation. That called for a bit of online research and a fair bit of modification to suit my unwillingness to spend more than one or two hours in the kitchen. Now, if I only manage to finish writing down the recipe… Very soon, I hope!

About magdave

Two people passionate about the slow life of creating tasty food in our little kitchen, with the help of our greenhouse, the garden patches
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back Home Again…

  1. Pingback: Finally! Fesenjoon! | Coop de Kitchen

Leave a Reply

